MSK+5
USD 71.6
EUR 87.3
Language:EN

Art Museum named after C.S. Sampilov

East Siberian "Hermitage" - this is how you can figuratively call the Republican Art Museum named after C.S. Sampilov. It is one of the leading museums in Eastern Siberia.

Its expositions occupy 10 halls, about 1,310 square metres; its funds occupy 560 square metres. The collection of the museum has more than 10 thousand storage units: painting, graphics, sculpture, arts and crafts and jewellery. Here you can see unique works of artists and masters of Buryatia: jewellery made of silver and gold, objects of arts and crafts, small plastic, chasing, ceramics, tapestries of horsehair, painting, drawing, sculpture, Buddhist painting. The museum team collected every piece of it throughout 60-year history.

The museum exposition reveals a staged sta-ARSHRUT number 6 ULAN-UDE museum innovation and the development of Buryat visual art, organically included in the international development of all art while preserving its characteristic features and traditions. This is its artistic uniqueness and national significance. Art Museum named after C.S. Sampilov was created by the Resolution of the Council of People's Commissars of the Buryat-Mongolian Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic and the Bureau of the Regional Committee of the CPSU (b) No. 245 dated 25 of October 1943, opened in 1944.

The opening of the museum during the Patriotic War with Nazi Germany was a great event in the cultural life of the republic and a precursor approaching Victory. Director was appointed the national artist of Buryatia Roman Sidorovich Merdygeev. The collection of Russian State Museum in 1947 served as the basis for the exposition of Russian fine arts of the 18th – 20th centuries — painting, drawing and sculpture.

The museum collection has interesting original creations of Russian artists, both well known and those whose works are less familiar to viewers. The collection of Buryat painting began to take shape long before the opening of the museum since The Union of Artists of the Buryat-Mongolian ASSR was already established in 1933. The works of the first Buryat artists Innocent Daduev, Roman Merdygeev, Tsyrenzhap Sampilov, Ivan Arzhikov, Alexander Khangalov, Alexander Timin, and Alexander Okladnikov composed the first collection of the museum.

Now, these plot-thematic paintings with historical, every day and folklore content make up the “golden fund” of Buryat fine art. The collection of the Silver Fund of the Republic Art Museum named after Ts.S.Sampilov presents classic traditional sets of men's and women's jewellery of the Trans-Baikal region of the XIX-early XX centuries.


© 2019. A single tourist portal of the city of Ulan-Ude. All rights reserved
Language: EN