Svyato (St) Troitsky church

It is one of the oldest churches in Ulan-Ude. The construction of the wooden graveyard church started in 1770; it was rebuilt in 1809 as a stone church and was consecrated in 1816.

Burial services were mainly held there, but it served other church offices as well. In forties of the last century the church as well as many other churches was closed and destroyed during the war. It was planned to house the museum of architecture there during the Soviet time but due to financial difficulties the idea was given up. The municipal garden with amusement rides were built there. Only in 1989 the church was passed over to the Russian Orthodox Church and its reconstruction began.

Location

Kujbyscheva-Str. 37